Are You Insulting Your Tweeple?

Have you ever gotten one of those instant DM responses from someone that you asked to connect with on Twitter? Aren’t you amazed at how so many people are up at 3:00 a.m. in the morning waiting to respond to your request?

Well, actually they aren’t. They’re using one of the autoresponder services, such as Tweetlater, that are alerted each time they get a friend request. The autoresponder then sends you a DM containing a message written by the subscriber.

How do you feel about those auto-DMs? You might even use them yourself?

Are the too impersonal?Especially the ones asking you to click on a link and visit their blog. Or they might say something like: “click on this link for a special gift that I have for new Twitterbuds.”

I posed this question to my Twitterbuds recently and the response was overwhelmingly against auto-DMs. But a small few said that if used properly, they didn’t mind getting them.

What are your thoughts? How should they be used?

Please leave your comments along with your Twitter link.

Thanks…. Jim

http://twitter.com/jim_turner

5 Responses to Are You Insulting Your Tweeple?

  1. Chris Morin says:

    I think the auto welcome is just fine as long as people don’t send me to their blog/website which SCREAMS at me and wants me to sign up! GEEZ… it’s just a first date! However if they ask a ? or GIVE me something… a few clever twitter folk send you to a joke or a special twitter welcome page.. I like those!
    my 2 cents.

  2. Deb Lee says:

    I agree, the auto-welcome is not a problem when there isn’t a blatant solicitation to view/read/comment/buy something they have.

  3. I think tweeters are just trying to sneak that kiss in Chris. I understand you don’t kiss on the first tweet. I want to send auto DM’s initally because I can’t get on Twitter sometimes throughout the day. Then actually take the time to visit their profile page and address them by first name. Makes the interaction a little more personal.

  4. llenar says:

    I personally like the auto-DMs. They allow me to respond in a timely manner. I too do not like the blatant solicitation to view a website, even if it is cloaked in – learn more about me or see what I love.

    And even though I DO use the auto-DMs I also have it send me a daily e-mail list of everyone who has followed me. I then check out their twitter sites AND sometimes go further and check out their websites which are listed on there.

    I also sometimes will reply to those who ask me to check out their websites in their DMs – “I’ll check out yours if you check out mine!”

  5. Mysticle says:

    Great question. I do not use an auto-DM. I think it’s possible to establish a proper auto-DM reply, but I prefer to send a personal message.

    What I really dislike in auto-DMs:
    -requesting me to follow a link
    -telling me you will follow back or look forward to my tweets, when there’s actually no follow-back

    Thanks, Mysticle

Leave a Reply

