Why Twitter is My Social Networking Secret Weapon…

Back in March when I first heard about Twitter, you wouldn’t have been able to convince me that one day I’d be blogging on the value added by using Twitter.

Initially, I saw it as another way to waste away my day and to be a major distraction, preventing me from getting the things done that I really needed to get done.

But over time, Twitter has become a critical tool in my Social Networking efforts. Yes, it experiences service outages (quite frequently, might I add), but those incidences have not hindered the ROI that I’m getting from the time invested in using Twitter… because I don’t use Twitter as an IM service.

Here are some ways that Twitter has benefitted me over the last few months:

Met and interacted with other like-minded people – some of my best online friends are folks that I communicate with frequently on Twitter. Let me rephrase that statement – ALL of my BEST online friends are people that I interact with on Twitter. Many of these friendships started with a simple Twitter conversation that was eventually taken off-line for a deeper level of conversation and relationship building.

Found resources that helped me solve a technical computer-related problem – after sending out a desperate tweet asking for help with an email problem, several people in my network responded with links to Outlook help forums and with personal advice on how to solve my problem. They saved me tons of time in searching and reading articles.

Located several Squidoo experts by blasting a tweet to my network asking “whom they would  recommend as a lens developer.”

This is just a sampling of how using Twitter has help me. While writing this blog, I started a conversation with fellow tweeter, Kristen Beireis, AKA life_enthusiast and she said to mention that you can increase your cash flow with Twitter.

I couldn’t agree more, because I’ve found and built relationships with several new business partners – now working on two new JV projects with fellow Twitterbuds and have over the last few months developed long-term relationships with a couple of new copywriting clients.

Bottom line: Twitter can be whatever you decide to make it… a business builder or a time waster. Quite frankly, I only spend between 20 and 30 mins/day actively using twitter. Although I have it “live” most of the time, depending on the type of work that I’m doing.

Right now, I have 931 people who follow my tweets and I follow just over 1,200. These are highly targeted people, with whom I have lot in common. In fact, many of them are connected with me as a Facebook Friend… or on my Facebook Fan Page… or as part of my Facebook Social Media Marketing Mastermind Group.

Of all the Social Networking tools and apps that I use, Twitter is my Secret Weapon. My goal is to someday, have ALL of my contacts in my Twitter network. And here’s why…

The one big advantage I have when using Twitter is that I can instantly message each of my Followers, not with a SPAM sandwich, but to let them know about things that I’m involved in that they can benefit from, such as, a new blog post, a new Social Networking tip that I’ve recently learned, links to helpful resources, announcements about Social Networking interviews and events that I’m participating in or along with other experts.

In marketing terminology this is called Branding. Twitter is a great tool for helping you to become a recognized expert in your niche. And when people have a need for what you have to offer – guess who they’re going to come to for help – YOU!

If you’d like to become a recognized expert in your niche and have access to real-time Social Networking information, then let’s connect now. Follow my tweets for a while and see how I use Twitter. Also, connect with a lot of the people in my tweet network and see what they’re doing.

Yep, I’m now a Twitter or micro-blogging Evangelist. I’m no longer a “Twitter Hater.”

Let’s Tweet!

Jim Turner

P.S. If you’re already using Twitter, let me know about the success stories you’re experiencing by leaving a comment below.

P.S.S There are other micro-blogging apps available – Plurk, Pownce, Tumblr and most recently, Identi.ca. I have accounts in some of these, but I’m sticking with Twitter because I’ve spent too much time and effort building my current network.

13 Responses to Why Twitter is My Social Networking Secret Weapon…

  1. Couldn’t agree more about the business uses for Twitter. Hell, i found my current job using Twitter. Big believer in it.

    Nice post.

  2. Chetan says:

    Twitter has been there for good time now and many people and companies are using it as a good marketing tool 🙂
    Good one.

    For example, take woot.com, it makes most of its sales through its twitter followers who check the updates and buy the featured products.

  3. JimBob51 says:

    Today – I arrived because I now find Plurk delivers everything – Like twitter it allows all of the above in a manner that is more community spirited with as many smart people as I have found on Twitter. It has also proven more reliable.

    Because of the way the timeline works in Plurk I was easily able to wander back to The Plurk that invited me here

  4. I of course agree with you Jim, I ♥ twitter and i have so far built some truely fantastic relationships through using it, that i don’t think i would have had if i had just been using FB. I have far more interaction, both in real time and with from friends in different time zones. It has taken over from FB as my main way of Social Networking, although i am connected with most of my twitter friends on FB as well.

    I send out ► Video Emails on twitter and have had hundreds of more views than i could imagine compared to if i was just sending to friends in-boxes… And such a wonderful response too!!

    Before i used twitter, i used to see the ‘is twittering…’ in friends FB status and i wondered what all the fuss was about… Now i couldn’t live without it!

    It’s funny though that of all my ‘offline’ friends who are on FB there is only ONE that is using twitter!!! Can you believe that!!!

    Tweet you later Jim!

  5. Jim Turner says:

    Thanks to William, Chetan, JimBob51 and Emilyla for you comments. I couldn’t agree with you more, Twitter or microblogging is the greatest Social Networking tool out there today – at least for what I’m trying to accomplish.

    Cheers!
    Jim

  6. Hey Jim,

    Thanks for the article.

    I agree….Twitter not only provides me with quick access to info re what my biz friends are up to but it has almost doubled the amount of traffic to my website. I’ve also found wonderful resources for my own biz by following others on Twitter.

    Have a good day Tweets!

    Leslie

  7. sir,
    is this like penpal website, i think i should read all the article first then write some commment, i also like to make friendship with you and all the other friends, who wrie and read about this.
    hope you will guide and suggest me about this
    thanks
    shyam from kathmandu nepal

  8. Rob Moore says:

    Jim,
    I really like twitter and I am trying to implement it in each department at iBank.com

    We connect small businesses with sources of capital and our entire model is online which means that we have thousands of email addresses of individuals we’ve done business with. What I’ve been trying to do is to see how many of these lenders, borrowers, and partners we have are using twitter and if there are enough then we will assign someone in each department to be head of tweets!

    I haven’t implemented twitter in such a way before but I’m blogging about it so feel free to read in to see how it goes.
    -Robert

  9. […] to people face to face can be a waste of time. Twitter can be a waste of time just like … Why Twitter is My Social Networking Secret Weapon… – This is just a sampling of how using Twitter has help me. While writing this blog, I started a […]

  10. Frank says:

    Thanks for this beautiful Posting On social networking!
    It was very nice to see this great article talking about Community!

  11. You said it “Twitter can be whatever you want it to be”

    It’s like a telephone. No need describing what communication you’ll do, but you always have one installed if you want to be successful in business

  12. […] “I saw it as another way to waste away my day and to be a major distraction, preventing me from getting the things done that I really needed to get done. But over time, Twitter has become a critical tool in my Social Networking efforts.” ~PitBullMarketing's Weblog […]

  13. […] “I saw it as another way to waste away my day and to be a major distraction, preventing me from getting the things done that I really needed to get done. But over time, Twitter has become a critical tool in my Social Networking efforts.” ~PitBullMarketing's Weblog […]

Leave a Reply

