Why Should I Join Your Group Anyway? Part #2

In my last post I was somewhat critical of well-meaning folks loading up my inbox with numerous group requests  – especially ones that aren’t of interest to me. It turns out, a lot of my friends are seeing the same thing and they don’t like it either. They’re being bombarded also.

So, today I’m going to get off my soap box and talk about why I would join your group or participate in a Joint Venture with you. It’s really not that difficult to understand – in fact it’s very simple.

First off, your group or JV opportunity has to be focused on something that I’m interested in. If you can’t get past that hurdle, forget it!

Now, some assume that I’m interested in Get Rich Quick business opportunities. Nope! Been there, done that! If you tell me I can get rich doing nothing, I’m not going to say nice things about you. 😉

And maybe even worse, I’m going to ignore you or delete your message at the speed of light. If your group comes across as one that offers me information that I can use, then you have a much better chance of getting  my attention.

Just recently someone was aggressively approaching me and my posting on my Network Wall saying they wanted my members and me to join their group because they needed to get 5,000 members in 30 days. I was given many reasons why they needed to reach that milestone, but none of them presented any benefit to me.

On the other hand if their group was focused on teaching me how I can grow my Friends by 5,000 in 30 days, I would have been very interested. In this case both of us would have benefitted. Anyone that can show people how to get 5,000 Friends in 30 days will have members knocking at their door.

You’ve probably noticed that I’ve talked a lot about what’s of interest to me in this post. I did that intentionally because that’s the way everyone else feels who reads your message. We’re all selfish and want to know, What’s In It For Me (WIIFM).

People in general are very self-centered. So when you put together your pitches or group invitations you need to make sure you let the reader know what’s in it for them… and it has to be believable.

Once you get me in your group – the real work starts. You see, now you’ve got to keep me there. The best way to do that is keep feeding me information that I can use and benefit from… not more and more pitches.

I would like to hear from you no more than a couple of times per week. Anything above that and you run the risk of annoying your members. Annoyed members hit the remove link real fast.

In closing, it’s important that you know that I’m not against offering a product or service to me or your group members. I realize most of us are in business – that means that at some point a financial transaction must take place, or we won’t be around very long.

But be willing to provide training and educational resources pertaining to how to be successful with what you’re promoting.

Now that I’ve told you how to run a group, I’d like to show you how in a practical sense. If you’re not already part of my Social Media Marketing Network on Facebook, you can join me now and watch what I do. I don’t have it ALL right, but I do a few things worth watching.

My Social Media Marketing Network Page is loaded with resources that can help you master the art of successfully growing your business using social media strategies and techniques.

Hope you enjoyed this 2-part post and found it both practical and useful.

Cheers and Happy Networking

Jim Turner

3 Responses to Why Should I Join Your Group Anyway? Part #2

  1. Isaac says:

    thanks, I’m in total agreement with the not wanting the get rich quick stuff. I’m not motivated by the fancy cars. Here is the deal. I have realized that it is a poverty mentality to want to always get more than you give. I have decided in my business to try to give more value than I take. I never seem to lack for customers. keep up the good work.

  2. charlie says:

    Jim… agreed again. It’s so true on the interests front. I enjoy food and wine so I get asked – and join – many groups in a similar theme. That said – at the end of the day you can only really “really” participate in a dedicated few. Possibly where your friends hang out the most. I am not the type interested in “growing my friends” over a certain number – I prefer a “real relationship” with people – and that doesn’t mean numbers. It means quality. So I invest time in people – and in this instance groups.

    Anyway… if you like Red Wine come and join my group: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=16116545564

    Kep up the good work xxc

  3. Surd says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Surd.

Leave a Reply

