Meetup in Philly

As I mentioned in my last blog post, I finally had a chance to connect with two  of the many persons that I’ve had virtual conversations with while networking online. Last time it was my Lil’ Sis Marj from Germany. Thanks to many of you who went over and showed her some love. LOL

Today, I’ll tell you about another friend I met a few weeks. I’m sure you’ve seen her buzzing around the socialspehere – her name is Dr. Sally Witt.

Sally is a multi-skilled, multi-talented person. We’re connected on all of the major social media sites. I’m most familiar with her BlogTalkRadio.com shows. You can find out more about her broadcasts at: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/drsallywitt or by visiting her Facebook profile.

Two weeks ago she contacted me about being on one of her broadcasts – for an hour. I’m not real big on talking. As a writer/copywriter, I’m a lot more comfortable with the written word rather than the spoken. But when pushed, I’ll grin and bear it.

We played phone tag for a week before she finally caught up with me while traveling to Philly last weekend. It just so happened that we were on the same highway – the PA Turnpike – traveling toward each other. We decided that she and her husband would meet me at my hotel.

Once they arrived we headed to the local Sbux for coffee and tea. And for more than an hour, we had a grand ole time. Little did I know, Sally had a hidden agenda – she wanted to do a video interview to use as a promo for our upcoming broadcast. I found out when she asked the Sbux crew if they could turn the music down because she was going to be doing a video interview.

Somehow, I managed to weasel my way out of the interview by committing to get my own laptop cam and we would do a promo interview later.

Nevertheless, we had a great time talking about ways to network and build strong online communities. How to engage people. How to partner with other movers and shakers in this niche.

Since Sally does a lot of coaching sessions using the free Skype service, I learned an entirely new way to conduct coaching sessions with clients that will make my job much easier.

One of the major things I picked up from her was the importance of using multi-media tools – such as audio, video and podcasts.

I knew all along I needed to start using other forms of media, but until you get the opportunity to sit and chat with someone about the pros and cons of doing different things, you never make any positive actions in those directions. So video, here I come.

On June 17 I will be  Sally’s guest on her radio broadcast discussing how to build social communities on the new media and of course we’ll discuss how to monetize those efforts as well. So, stay tuned for more about the upcoming interview.

In mid-May, I will also be a radio guest with another good buddy I met through social networking. You’ll get all the details later.

If you’re into podcasting, video production and you have hardware and software resources or experts you can recommend, please do so by leaving a comment below.

Thanks.

Jim Turner

3 Responses to Meetup in Philly

  1. […] raziel wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptOne of the major things I picked up from her was the importance of using multi-media tools – such as audio, video and podcasts. I knew all along I needed to start using other forms of media, but until you get the opportunity to sit and … […]

  2. Jim,

    You are too funny!

    Thanks for chatting about me on your blog. I am a Jim Tuner fan since our meeting!

    I will look forward to that video interview!

    Hugs,

    Sally

    http://www.drsallywitt.com

  3. Abdullah Yacoub says:

    Hi Jim,

    Very nice post..

    I think this social marketing concept will be the new era of marketing taking into consideration this social-interaction websites evolution..

    regards

    Abdullah

Leave a Reply

