Using Social Networking to Build A Group from Scratch

In my last post I talked about how my minor marketing efforts were multiplied by a factor of 10. Essentially what happened is I invited 5 friends to my new Facebook group and within 72 hours the group had grown to 50 members.

Today, it’ been just over a week since I started the group, Social Media Marketing Mastermind.  Now there are 273 members, 62 of which are not directly connected to me – that represents approximately 23% of the group.

That is an example of how your message can get spread using Social Media Marketing.

Interesting enough, as much as this group has grown, I haven’t unleashed any power-packed marketing schemes yet. For example, I haven’t asked group members to invite your friends to join the group, which is a very powerful marketing technique.

So far, I’ve only sent invitations to about 25% of my FB friends. Even though these were my friends, I still sent a brief personalize message to them, including their name, along with a benefit-rich statement as to why they should join my group.

This direct approach is an example of how to use direct response marketing in combination with Social Networking strategies.

I have some big plans ahead to grow this group to a 1,000 members within the next month. It’s a challenging goal. But I feel that using a combination so SMM and direct response marketing, my chances are very good.

I’ll keep you posted.

Jim Turner

One Response to Using Social Networking to Build A Group from Scratch

  1. Been reading for a while now. Just wanted to say good job.

    Chris Tackett

Leave a Reply

