Market Your Business… With Zero Effort and Zero Time!

One of the most highly visible and frequently read areas of Facebook and many other social media websites is the “Status” line. If you’re on Facebook promoting a business or services, that is a prime location to “advertise.”

It’s analogous to getting first dibs on a high traffic billboard in the off-line world. Why do I say that? Let me explain.

On Facebook (or LinkedIn), when you update your Status line, a notification is posted in the Mini-Feed of your profile page – the page where visitors land when they come to your site.

But it doesn’t stop there, it also goes out to the News Feed of everyone in your Friend network (and possibly your network of Friend’s Friends – if it’s set up properly).

[SIDEBAR BEGINS]

That’s one of the reasons you want to build as large a network of Friends as you possibly can AND become Friends with others who have a large network of friends. The way Facebook is setup, your Friend’s Friends become an extension of your personal network. The KEY is you want to become friends with people whom you share a mutual interest with or who are potential clients of yours. I’ve heard the argument of only being friends with people you already know. If you’re looking to grow your business that’s pure, unadulterated nonsense. Well, don’t get me going on that subject… wasn’t the intent of this post. I’ll save that rant for later.

[SIDEBAR BEGINS]

Ok, let’s get back to my original intent here – a simple way to market yourself by spending virtually zero energy and time. In my last post I spoke of making sure that you do some form of marketing everyday to promote your business. Well, this is one of those no-brainer ways to market yourself without getting in people’s face.

One of the first things you should do each day when you log on is change/edit your Status line. But don’t just change it for the sake of change. Give it some thought. Come up with something that speaks to how you can help the reader. In fact, you should pretend that you’re talking to a prospect and you want to let them know how you can help them in one short phrase or sentence.

Here are some that I’ve used before – they all sort of reflect what I do and how I can help a prospect:

Jim is… busy writing copy for one of his top clients.

Jim is… researching for interesting material to put in a promo for a financial newsletter.

Jim is… taking a break this weekend after finalizing a major promo for a business opportunity marketer.

Jim is… preparing an agreement to provide copywriting and consulting services to a lifecoach.

Jim is… helping his clients make more money.

You get my drift. But really, can’t you tell a lot about what I do and how I might be able to help you, just by reading my little 5-second blurbs. I’ve gotten emails/messages through Facebook from potential clients on several occasions… and have even landed work from it.

I can recall on one occasion, I got a message from a Friend wanting to know if I could help her make money. It caught me off-guard and I was wondering why is this person asking me if would help them make money. Then it occurred to me that I’d put that in my status update and it came through her News Feed.

So bottom line: Use the Status line to let people know what you want them to know about you. If you want them to know that you’re at McDonald’s having a Big Mac, that’s fine too. But how about, you’re “having a Big Mac after finishing a 2-page sales letter for your best client.”

Cheers!

Jim Turner

Copywriter & Marketing Strategist

8 Responses to Market Your Business… With Zero Effort and Zero Time!

  1. Yes – refreshing your status line is really important. Once I started updating my Facebook status line with interesting business-related activities, I got a client without even asking for one – they found me!

  2. Mari Smith says:

    Right on, Jim!!! I was just writing about this very piece today in my Facebook for Professionals book. I’m including a link to your post – I couldn’t have said this better myself. ha!! 🙂 Two thumbs up, my friend.

  3. Nadine T. says:

    Thanks Jim, that’s a pretty straightforward and simple thing to do. My status line is updated from twitter, too.

  4. Wong Tooi Giap says:

    Hi All,
    I believe very strongly the unobtrusive effectiveness of using the status updates;I plan out my strategy of what I want to achieve.Personal Branding, Marketing, Pesona,Upcoming events, build up interest.
    May be my listing below of my status updates history can be useful to some of you who plan to go this way ::

    April 17

    Wong Do you think creating 58 downlines in 5 days,internet only,possible ?http://cashblasterprosuccess.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/18/.
    9:18pm
    April 12

    Wong Internet Network Marketing Blog power by Blogi360+ easy pushbutton automation,get what top web programmers strength without you having any programming skill.
    1:42pm
    April 11

    Wong is so excited,my Internet Network Marketing Blog is launched,all powered by the sensational Blogi360 system,with pushbutton persuasion.Voi la !
    12:43pm
    April 9

    Wong is for Wowzza! Social Networking ,94,811 enrolles in 9 days at internet speed,technology rules.
    12:35pm
    April 8

    Wong is for Wowzza! Social Networking ,76,566 enrolles in 8 days at internet speed,technology rules.
    12:21pm
    April 7

    Wong is excited for Wowzza! Social Networking site,15 signed up. http://www.wowzzapower.com/index2.php?siteId=2891.
    12:14pm
    April 6

    Wong is excited for Wowzza! Social Networking site,14 signed up after 5 days,all networking enthusiasts.Get paid to networking.Voila !
    12:41pm
    April 5

    Wong is excited for Wowzza! Social Networking site,13 signed up after 4 days,all networking enthusiasts.Get paid to networking.Voila !
    9:40am
    April 3

    Wong is excited for Wowzza! Social Networking site,7 signed up after 3 days,all networking enthusiasts.Get paid to networking.Voila !
    5:13pm
    April 2

    Wong is excited for Wowzza! Social Networking site,4 signed up today,all networkers.
    6:47pm
    April 1

    Wong is abstracting the Facebook Mastermind Alliance;how to get notice in a stadium with 50,000 people ?The star performer or the spectator ?Or we group up ?
    10:01pm

    Wong is abstracting the Facebook Mastermind Alliance;leveraging,harmonizing,aggregating,multiplying amidst the billions of internet entities in the cyberworld.
    3:32am
    March 30

    Wong is Fast Company rated facebook as the 3rd rank in the 50 most innovating companies of the world.The top ranking are Google,Apple,Facebook,GE,Ideo,Nike,Nokia..
    12:41pm
    March 28

    Wong is intensively stdudying the great archive of Jeremiah Owyang’s Web Strategy site, an awesome latest insights into Social Media Marketing,a growing trend.
    3:58pm
    March 26

    Wong is affirming the idea that ideas are plenty, it is the actual execution ,may be small,that consistently doing it, will have impact over my life.
    11:33am
    March 25

    Wong is There are days when life is in a flux of diverging happenings;overwhelming things to do,many demands to meet, loose sense of focus by others.
    12:55pm
    March 23

    Wong is planning a Facebook Mastermind Alliance group to leverage scarce networking resources.An Alliance of commited and entreprising powerbase.Strategy,Optimisatio.
    3:30pm
    March 21

    Wong is excited for the incoming launch of NPN Programme, a pay forward marketing concept for Internet Newbie to learn online business for 45 days,free first 30 days.
    1:23pm
    March 20

    Wong is meeting with Roger Loh from Singapore, my internet alliance in Success University, Kiosk,NPN and all web-based businesses.Strategic Alliances in Action.
    12:05pm
    March 19

    Wong is brimming with accomplishment, for Facebook Connections that I started on 16.01.08, now has blossomed to 309 members.Joie De Vivre !
    12:55pm
    March 18

    Wong is reading Building On A Budget by Mike Dillard, the magnectic Sponsoring maverick who made millionaires from 0 within 18 months.
    8:42pm
    March 17

    Wong is re-positioning;highly focused concentration on key moves,reaffirm motives, all re-align new paradigm.First salvo now!
    3:08pm
    March 16

    Wong is recuperating from Malaysia Election tsunami,utterly unexpected, utterly exhilarating;a new dawn has ecclipsed, a new hope for enlightenment, rejoice .
    4:48pm
    March 5

    Wong is reading Digimarketing-the essential guide to new media and digital marketing by Kent Westime and Ian Fernwick of the famed advertising guru Ogilvy Group.
    11:04am
    March 3

    Wong has just completed reading of Secrets of Internet Millionaires by Stuart Tan who spearheads Internet Marketing Academy.Good for newbie in Internet Marketing.
    7:16pm
    March 2

    Wong is reading Affiliate Millions by Anthony Borelli,who made over a million in his first year on internet affiliate marketing using Search Marketing.
    12:10am
    February 25

    Wong is making Internet Network Marketing Blog with Blog i360,website system that work on WordPress & automatic synchronisation with Serach Engine Optimisation.
    9:04am
    February 24

    Wong is excited for Blog i360 is highlighting the power of of online persuasion in the new era of new media marketing, the web 2.0 surge,.
    9:37am

    Wong Tooi Giap
    Unisuccess Internet Marketing
    My Multiple Streams of Income
    @Synergy @Holistic @Leverage @Exponential
    http://cashblasterprosuccess.wordpress.com/

  5. I just submitted, should I say begged for, my request for the beta version. Thanks for the tip.

    John McLaughlin, Stock Day Trader – Consultant / Coach

  6. Jim,

    You are always on top of all this info! You Rock!!

    Sally

  7. I’m a fairly recent adapter of the status tool–but I find being judicious is better than “flooding the market.” There are some people who update their status multiple times a day-and I usually tune them out. If I see a message from someone I don’t see as much, I’m more likely to glance at it, and sometimes click to their profile.

    Shel Horowitz, author of five marketing books including
    Grassroots Marketing: Getting Noticed in a Noisy World

  8. BGreen says:

    Thanks, Jim for this informative and potentially profitable advice. As someone trying to transition from one primary business to another, gives me lots of opportunity to keep up with communication in spurts, or twitts ;~)

    Thanks again!
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

